Buckinghamshire local elections 2021 results

LATEST 10pm: Conservatives take 113 of the 147 seats in first ever Bucks Council unitary authority elections.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Full list of results from the first elections in Bucks as a single unitary authority.

This is the first time elections have taken place for the new unitary authority in Buckinghamshire.

A unitary authority looks after all the local council services, such as schools, road maintenance, bin collections, public housing and social care

Bucks Council's Gateway offices in AylesburyBucks Council's Gateway offices in Aylesbury
Bucks Council's Gateway offices in Aylesbury

Buckinghamshire Council is a new single unitary council that replaced Buckinghamshire County Council and Aylesbury Vale, Chiltern, South Bucks and Wycombe district councils in April 2020.

Polling day was on Thursday. Yesterday all votes/ballot papers are verified at the four count venues in Bucks. These are The Gateway in Aylesbury, Denham Grove, Capswood (also in Denham), and Wycombe Leisure Centre.

And today (Saturday) Buckinghamshire Council votes are counted first with initial results expected around 10.30/11am.

On Monday (May 10), the police and crime commissioner (PCC) votes are counted at the four count venues.

Once the results come in, they are sent to the central count at Cherwell District Council who announce the final result.

As of 12.15pm it was announced the afternoon count due to start at 1pm - will be delayed by one hour.


New Buckinghamshire Council:

Conservatives have 113 out of the 147 seats - a majority of 76.8 per cent, meaning their lead over other parties has slimmed down slightly this time.

The Liberal Democrats now have 15 seats out of 147, increasing their share of the seats to 10.2 per cent.

All of the independent candidates grouped together make up 14 seats out of 147 - a 9.5 per cent share.

And Labour has just four seats out of 147 makes - 2.7 per cent.

The Green Party's one seat out of 147 makes up 0.6 per cent.

Results as they happened:

Aston Clinton & Bierton: Bill Chapple (Conservative) - 1939 (18%) Mike Collins (Conservative) - 1860 (17%) Julie Elizabeth Ward (Conservative) - 1686 (16%).

Tories take Grendon Underwood, Ivinghoe and Stone and Waddesdon.

Grendon Underwood: Angela Macpherson, Frank Mahon and Michael Rand all elected

Ivinghoe: Peter Brazier, Chris Poll and Derek Town all elected

Stone and Waddesdon: Mike Caffrey, Paul Irwin and Ashley Waite all elected

Aylesbury East: The first Liberal Democrat seat - in Aylesbury East as Tom Hunter Watts is elected alongside Tories Mark Winn and Richard Gaster.

Wendover, Halton and Stoke Mandeville: Tories Steve Bowles, Richard Newcombe and Peter Strachan all elected as councillors.

Former councillor Steve Bowles brings in the most votes with 17 per cent of all cast.

Great Missenden: Another Conservative HOLD here with Mimi Harker - 1,860, Peter Martin - 1,745 and Heather Wallace - 1,707.

Great Brickhill: Another Conservative clean-sweep with Phil Gomm: 1,889 votes, Jilly Jordan: 1,786 votes and Iain Macpherson - 1,664 votes.

Buckingham West: Labour's Robin Stuchbury holds his own in Buckingham West as he's elected alongside Caroline Cornell and Patrick Fealey, both Conservatives.

Aylesbury North West: A clean-sweep for the Liberal Democrats in Aylesbury North West as Anders Christensen, Tuffail Hussain and Gurinder Wadhwa are all elected.

IMPORTANT 4PM: The Conservatives now have 80 seats - which means they have a majority in the new Buckinghamshire Council. A total of 147 councillors are to be elected overall.

IMPORTANT 4.15PM: Cllr Martin Tett picked up the most votes in Little Chalfont and Amersham Common (1,845) - not one of our areas we know, but it is important locally because the next question is, will he put himself up for the new Buckinghamshire Council leader role?

4.45PM: It has been over an hour since the last declaration. But there are eight local wards yet to be called for the Aylesbury Vale area. They are: Aylesbury North, Aylesbury South East, Aylesbury South West, Aylesbury West, Buckingham East, The Risboroughs, Wing and Winslow.

5PM, Aylesbury South East: The results for Aylesbury South East are in and it's another clean sweep for the Tories as Sue Chapple (Conservative) takes it with 1,511 votes with Denise Summers (Conservative) - 1,408 votes and David Thompson (Conservative) - 1,389 votes.

5.25PM, Aylesbury North: Clean sweep for Lib Dems here. Tim Dixon - Liberal Democrat - 1,309, Raj Wali Khan - Liberal Democrat - 1,291, Susan Ann Morgan- Liberal Democrat - 1,262.

6PM, Buckingham East: Three more seats for the Conservatives. Warren Whyte - 1,385, Howard Mordue - 1,226 and Ade Osibogun - 953.

Aylesbury South West: Another clean-sweep for the Lib Dems. Waheed Khan Raja (1142), Mary Agnes Baldwin (1063), Niknam Hussain (1032).

Aylesbury West: Clean sweep for Lib Dems again as Steven Lambert (1395), Sarah James (1353) and Adam Poland (1124) get the votes.

6.20PM: Just The Risboroughs, Wing and Winslow from our patch to be announced.

7PM, Winslow: Conservative clean sweep again with John Chilver taking 1645 votes in front of fellow Tories David Goss (1595) and Beville Stanier (1311).

7.15PM, Wing: Two Conservative, one Lib Dem as Ashley Bond takes it with 1637 votes ahead of Tory Diana Blamires (1465) and Lib Dem's Peter Cooper (1445).

And that concludes the results relating to wards in The Bucks Herald area.