Sprint sensation Dom posts a huge new PB in Bedford

Dacorum & Tring sprint star Dom Ashwell crashed through the 10.60s barrier in a 100m race at the Bedford International Games – posting a huge PB of 10.56s in his heat and qualifying for the final with the top sprinters in the UK.

Monday, 1st June 2015, 1:08 pm
Dacorum & Tring AC sprinter Dom Ashwell beat Paralympic star Jonnie Peacock in his heat at the Bedford International Games. Picture (c) Gary Mitchell

Fellow competitors racing alongside Ashwell included the likes of Adam Gemili, the 2014 Commonwealth Games silver medallist, and Jonny Peacock, Team GB’s gold medal winner at the London 2012 Paralympics.

Ashwell was the only athlete of the seven in his heat to go under 10.60s – including seventh-placed finisher Peacock.

His time now vaults him up to first place in the UK rankings for U17 men for the year to date, and puts him in a strong position for selection to the 2015 Youth Commonwealth Games, which are being held in Samoa in October.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

His lightning-fast time qualified him for Race 2 of the final, where he finished second in a speedy but wind-assisted 10.52s – the same time given to winner Kyle De Escort of Birchfield Harriers.

Ashwell, who is still only 15, was the youngest of all the athletes racing in the event and his result is another fine testament to the coaching skills of Gavin and Sarah Town, who have brought him up from a good club runner to the very top of the national rankings.

Ashwell’s mum Michelle, who runs with the Dacorum & Tring Road Runners section, said she was ‘so proud’ of her son for his ‘storming race, while Gavin Town said he was ‘speechless’ at the result.

Also in action in Bedford was Amber Carroll, who competed in the U17 300m hurdles invitational event and finished a very respectable fourth overall out of seven, in a time of 48.06s.

The Bedford International Games are considered a stepping stone to competing on the international circuit and former competitors include Jessica Ennis-Hill, Greg Rutherford, David Weir and Christine Ohuruogu.