Over 250 runners brave the weather for annual Bearbrook race

Over 250 runners took on the six-mile course on Sunday
Over 250 runners took on the six-mile course on Sunday

The prestigious X-Stream cross country race held in Hardwick and organised by Bearbrook Running Club welcomed over 250 runners on a misty Sunday morning as light rain made the going tough for this year’s event.

The six-mile race is recognised by many as a stern challenge for cross country runners, and that was indicated by the field of 255 finishers. The winner, all the way from Cambridge and Collerbee, was Sullivan Smith, who clocked 34.38mins.

Just 13 seconds behind was Tim Harris, who led a strong team from Ampthill and Flitwick, with Eddie O’Gorman of Chiltern Harriers third in 36.10.

Bearbrook’s partner, the Vale of Aylesbury Athletic Club, took the honours in the ladies race with Chloe Oldfield completing the course in 40.46.

Ellie Bates from Chiltern Harriers was second in 44.03 with Bearbrook’s own Emma Curtis Smith third lady in 45.02.

Ampthill and Flitwick Flyers put out a strong team and won the male team prize, with the Bearbrook women’s team of Emma Curtis Smith, Maria Russell, Lisa Jay and Anna Fryer winning the female category.

Andrew Rolt (38.55), Keith Miller (37.42), Tony Barrows (47.06), Maria Russell (47.59), Ros Kelling (45.56) and Hilary O’Shea (60.52) took first places in their respective categories.

Bearbrook runners were out in full force with Wes Trigg leading the way in 38.59.

Hot on his heels was Owen Byrne in 39.44, followed by Craig Fines-Allin (42.00), Andrew Broadbent (42.44), Dermot Martin (44.26), Gary Sparkes (44.34), Mike Lemon (44.45), Simon Allen (50.20), Lyn Garricks (53.22) and Brendan Cradden (54.56).

Whitchurch Cricket club supported the event, while new sponsors Brewers entered a full team which finished by 1.38.51.