ADL round-up: Aylesbury league over and out for another season

editorial image

The Aylesbury & District Football League is all but over for another season following the final round of matches at the weekend.

The Premier Division still has one game remaining, albeit with little riding on it, after Bucks CC were defeated 4-1 by Long Marston. That defeat means Bucks will finish fourth irrespective of the outcome of their final game of the season against Berkhamsted Sports.

Walton Court Wanderers won the that division with Aylesbury Dynamos runners-up and Haddenham United third, while Downley Albion and Pond Park Rangers were relegated.

With Wendover crowned as Division One champions and Aylesbury Park Rangers also promoted as runners-up, the only place still up for grabs is third spot. FC Mandeville must win by three clear goals against Oving to take third from Aylesbury Sports. Mandeville were held to a goalless draw by FC Spandits on Saturday.

Bedgrove Utd and Northchurch have been relegated.

Long Crendon have long since been confirmed as Division Two winners ahead of second-placed Bucks CC Reserves, who secured back-to-back promotions. At the bottom, FC Spandits Reserves go back to Division Three next season where they will be joined by Stone Magnets St Johns.

Division Three champions were new boys Tring Town AFC, while Long Marston Reserves eased the pain of their two cup final defeats by finishing second.

Quainton Reserves and Oving Reserves are both relegated

A youthful FC Mandeville Reserves side lifted the Division Four title and they will be joined in Division Three next season by Tetsworth Reserves, while Tring Titans Reserves picked up the wooden spoon.

As for the cup competitions, Bucks CC won the Marsworth Cup with a 4-2 win over Wendover, but there was an upset two days later when Aylesbury Park Rangers clinched the Tom Sparkes ADL League Cup thanks to Chris Davies’ goal eight minutes from time.

Also winning a cup this season were: Great Missenden (Thomas Field Shield), FC Mandeville (Sheffield Jackman Cup), Bucks CC Reserves (ADL Reserve Cup and Marsworth Reserve Cup) and Oakley Utd (Oving Village Cup).