Lib Dems win council by-elections

Ballot box
Ballot box

The Liberal Democrats won both by-elections for vacant seats on Aylesbury Vale District Council last night.

Anders Christensen and Peter Agoro won the Gatehouse and Southcourt wards in Aylesbury respectively, with UKIP candidates coming second on both occasions.

The elections were called after the resignations of Lib Dem Stuart Jarvis in Gatehouse and Labour’s Michael Beall in Southcourt.

The composition of the council is now:

Conservative: 36

Liberal Democrats: 17


Labour: 1

Independent: 2

Turnout was low in both wards – 17.7% in Gatehouse and 21% in Southcourt.

Peter Agoro was also elected to Aylesbury Town Council representing the Southcourt ward.