General election candidates announced for Aylesbury and Buckingham constituencies

Election 2015
Election 2015

The candidates for the forthing coming parliamentary elections in the Aylesbury and Buckingham constituencies have been announced.

Five candidates have been nominated to contest the Aylesbury constituency on Thursday, May 7. The Buckingham constituency has three candidates.

The nominations for the parliamentary elections are:

Aylesbury: Chris Adams (UKIP – Scrap HS2); Will Cass (Labour); Steven Lambert (Liberal Democrat); David Lidington (Conservative); David Lyons (Green Party).

Buckingham: John Bercow (The Speaker seeking re-election); Dave Fowler (UKIP – Scrap HS2); Alan Francis (Green Party)

The small number of candidates in Buckingham is in stark contrast to the last election, when 11 candidates, including several independents, stood. Mr Bercow won that election with 47.3% of the vote.

Mr Lidington, who has been Aylesbury’s MP since 1992, won the 2010 election with 52.2% of the vote, when Mr Adams and Mr Lambert were also candidates.

This is the first time the Greens have stood in Aylesbury since 1992, while the party has never before had a candidate in Buckingham.

The verification and count for the parliamentary elections will be held on Thursday, May 7 at the Gateway, Gatehouse Road, Aylesbury, starting at 10.30pm. The results will be declared by the returning officer, Andrew Grant, chief executive of Aylesbury Vale District Council.

There is still time to register to vote; the last date for registrations is April 20. The deadline for applying for a postal vote is 5pm on April 21.

For more information about the elections, visit or call 01296 585807.