Conservatives increase dominance at Aylesbury Vale District Council

AVDC election count
AVDC election count
Share this article

The Conservatives have comfortably retained control of Aylesbury Vale District Council following Thursday’s election.

The party, led into an election by Neil Blake for the first time since he took over from John Cartwright in 2013, increased its number of councillors from 2011’s vote by six to 43.

AVDC election count

AVDC election count

They now control 72% of the 59 seats at the council.

Lib Dems remain the official opposition despite losing eight councillors and winning only nine seats.

UKIP also had a disappointing day, winning only four seats, albeit up two from 2011, while Labour won two seats and independent Peter Cooper prevailed once more in Wingrave.

Notable casualties include former Lib Dem Aylesbury mayors Niknam Hussain and Ranjula Takodra (Elmhurst and Walton Court/ Hawkslade), former Tory cabinet member who joined UKIP, Phil Yerby (Aston Clinton and Stoke Mandeville), and Phil Gomm, a former UKIP county councillor who recently went independent (Bedgrove).

For the full list of results, click here

For The Bucks Herald’s live feed covering the election results, click here