Vale police officers honoured in awards

PC Michael Cowdrey
PC Michael Cowdrey

Two Vale police officers have received awards for their work in the community.

PC Michael Cowdrey and PCSO Sue Jones were among the winners at Thames Valley Police’s Community Policing Awards 2014.

PCSO Sue Jones PNL-140630-115747001

PCSO Sue Jones PNL-140630-115747001

PC Cowdrey has been named Bucks community officer of the year as well as the overall winner of his catgeory.

Based at Aylesbury police station, PC Cowdrey covers areas in the south of Aylesbury including Southcourt and Walton Court.

He joined the force in December 2002 and is described in many of the nominations as being enthusiastic, passionate, dedicated and an ambassador for the force.

He was praised for the work he has done building a strong rapport with his community and tackling anti-social behaviour, engaging with young people and gaining their respect.

PC Cowdrey has worked closely with 1A and the Walton Court Healthy Living Centre to educate and interact with local residents and deal with any problems they may have.

He also worked with a member of his team to set up a boxing club for young people in the area to divert them from anti-social and possible criminal behaviour and give them something positive to get involved with.

One colleague describes him as a great role model who was an integral part of why they became a neighbourhood officer.

PC Cowdrey said: “It was a surprise to be told that I had been nominated as community officer of the year, and a total shock when I was told that I had won!

“I am very proud of the achievement but should give most of the credit to the fantastic team that I work with, who are also passionate about all they do. “Without them it wouldn’t be possible.”

PCSO Jones was named as Bucks PCSO of the year.

She is based at Waddesdon police station and covers the Haddenham and Long Crendon neighbourhood.

PCSO Jones joined Thames Valley Police in 1999 and received the award after nominations from members of the public and colleagues, commending her for her great work in the area she covers.

Described in nominations as being friendly, practical and amazingly knowledgeable, PCSO Jones works closely with the rural communities in the villages she patrols and young people in the area.

She holds regular meetings at the local library to let residents know what support she can offer and ask for advice, as well as offering security marking and crime reduction advice to help victims avoid becoming a victim of crime.

She attends parish council meetings regularly and updates them and residents about what is happening in the area and surrounding villages.

PCSO Jones also visits schools and playgroups to talk to children and speaks to young people who gather in the parks in villages to speak to them about their behaviour and what impact it could have on those around them and the consequences of a criminal record for something such as criminal damage.

PCSO Jones said: “I am so very fortunate to be doing a job that I really enjoy, and to work with so many people who are so proactive and committed to their communities.

“Having worked in this area for several years now, we have built a rapport which has increased confidence in neighbourhood policing.

“This confidence and familiarity with the team, has let us feel like ‘one of the family’.

“I would like to thank all of those who voted for me.

“I am overwhelmed by their kindness.”

The awards recognise the efforts of Thames Valley Police’s neighbourhood policing teams, including police officers, police community support officers (PCSOs), special constables and volunteers,

Chief Constable Sara Thornton said: “I am delighted to be able to recognise the outstanding work of our officers, staff, and volunteers.

“Neighbourhood policing is vital in allowing us to respond to the needs of our local residents and remains a key priority for Thames Valley Police.

“This year we had more nominations than ever before and there were some exceptional nominees. I am proud to count them among our workforce and volunteers.”

The winners will be given their awards at a ceremony on July 15.