New Year gong for campaigner against human trafficking

Ruth Dearnley, from Wendover, who has been awarded an OBE in the Queen's New Year Honours List.

Ruth Dearnley, from Wendover, who has been awarded an OBE in the Queen's New Year Honours List.

A charity boss fighting against human trafficking is among people from the area to receive OBEs in the New Year’s Honours list.

Ruth Dearnley joins former High School girl Lynda Bellingham, Aylesbury Lib Dem Jane Piercy, former chief executive of Saunderton charity MapAction Nigel Woof and TV presenter Nicholas Parsons from Princes Risborough.

Mrs Dearnley, from Wendover, has led the Stop the Traffik charity since its formation in 2006 and has been recognised for services in ‘awareness and prevention of human trafficking’.

The 48 year old said: “I was amazed, shocked and humbled when I found out about this award.

“I am thinking of the award as recognition of Stop the Traffik and the many people who work around the world to try and raise awareness and stop human trafficking.

“It is one of the fastest growing crimes in the world and anything we can do to raise the profile of what goes on is most welcome.”

Mrs Dearnley, from Dobbins Lane, lives with her husband Mark, the vicar of St Mary’s Church in Wendover.

She also has two grown up children, Esther, 18 and Charlie, 19.

Mrs Dearnley said her family were very happy upon hearing the news.

She said: “They were all delighted for me.

“I am now looking forward to receiving the honour at Buckingham Palace as it will be a great family occasion.”

Mrs Piercy, a member of the Liberal Democrats Federal Executive Committee, received her OBE for voluntary political service.

Mr Parsons has been awarded an OBE for charitable services, while broadcaster Lynda Bellingham, brought up in Aston Abbotts, and educated at Aylesbury High School was rewarded for voluntary service to charitable giving in the UK.

Mr Woof was recognised for humanitarian services.

He said: “It’s exciting of course, but also humbling to be singled out. Really the award should be for the whole MapAction team, most of them volunteers.”




Back to the top of the page